Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Find quick help here to get you started with Hollywood
Post Reply
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 920
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by Juan Carlos »

I am working in a program that call to a Hollywood applet .hwa with this instruction: Run("Sys:Utilities/HollywoodPlayer -QUIET "..Maiden$), where the Maiden$ in the path to drawer and applet, on Windows the similar instruction Run("\"C:\\Program Files\\Hollywood Player\\HollywoodPlayer.exe\""..Maidens$) works very fine, but under MorphOS and Amiga68k the Hollywood Player open a request window to open the hwa file, and the question, How I can to do that under Amiga the Hollywood Player not open this requester and open directly the applet like on Windows?
Thank you.
User avatar
jPV
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: RNO
Contact:

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by jPV »

Works fine here on MorphOS. Have you tried to do it from the Shell first before doing it in Hollywood?
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 920
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by Juan Carlos »

jPV wrote: Mon Nov 18, 2024 9:10 am Works fine here on MorphOS. Have you tried to do it from the Shell first before doing it in Hollywood?
No, but I need that Hollywood program calle to Hollywood Player to run other program in applet Format in silent mode like the Windows version, also this can interesting to make a program to launch little tools in applet format.
User avatar
jPV
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: RNO
Contact:

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by jPV »

Juan Carlos wrote: Mon Nov 18, 2024 4:47 pm
jPV wrote: Mon Nov 18, 2024 9:10 am Works fine here on MorphOS. Have you tried to do it from the Shell first before doing it in Hollywood?
No, but I need that Hollywood program calle to Hollywood Player to run other program in applet Format in silent mode like the Windows version, also this can interesting to make a program to launch little tools in applet format.
In any case, this works on MorphOS here:

Code: Select all

Maiden$ = "path:to/an/applet.hwa"
Run("Sys:Utilities/HollywoodPlayer -QUIET "..Maiden$)
As well as this from the Shell:

Code: Select all

Sys:Utilities/HollywoodPlayer -QUIET path:to/an/applet.hwa
So, I suggest you to try the latter from the Shell. If it works there, then you have something broken in your Hollywood code. If it doesn't, it's easier to find the issue and solution in the Shell first before doing it in your own code.
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 920
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by Juan Carlos »

Well, laugh but today the same code that only I have changed the extension file of .hwa to .maiden works on Windows, AmigaOS4 3.9 and MorphOS, tomorrow perhaps the code doesn't work. Hollywood is a little paranormal.
plouf
Posts: 584
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:51 pm
Location: Athens,Greece

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by plouf »

the fact thats it works as expected to rest, plus your description does not "fit" to a hollywood issue.

points to somehow a deficon you have set for hwa, or some kind of patch for shell execution and or workbench replacement issue ?
is it true workbench or somekind of replacement ? scalos ? dopus ? aros ? etc
other patches ?
Christos
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 920
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by Juan Carlos »

plouf wrote: Tue Nov 19, 2024 8:20 pm the fact thats it works as expected to rest, plus your description does not "fit" to a hollywood issue.

points to somehow a deficon you have set for hwa, or some kind of patch for shell execution and or workbench replacement issue ?
is it true workbench or somekind of replacement ? scalos ? dopus ? aros ? etc
other patches ?
I use AmigaOS 3.9 with AFA patch for PNG icons, but the main target is MorphOS, where I found the problem.
Also I have a paranormal case with the icon in Witch Cleaner when you iconify the tool never it shows its default icon always it shows the Hollywood default icon, and yes, I am working in this issue but nothing while in other programs and games mine this problem is missing they show their icons and I use the same intruction in all cases. Where is the problem I don't know but in that case it isn't important for the program, yes in that current case to try to learn how launch applets from a Hollywood program.
User avatar
jPV
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: RNO
Contact:

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by jPV »

Juan Carlos wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2024 12:18 pm I use AmigaOS 3.9 with AFA patch for PNG icons, but the main target is MorphOS, where I found the problem.
I'm pretty sure there isn't any randomness in Hollywood, but it is in your code or command you're running there. I suggested you to try to launch the HollywoodPlayer with the applet from the Shell. When it works there, double check that it's exactly the same line you're giving as an option to the Run() command in Hollywood. There should be no issues and no witchcraft.

Also I have a paranormal case with the icon in Witch Cleaner when you iconify the tool never it shows its default icon always it shows the Hollywood default icon, and yes, I am working in this issue but nothing while in other programs and games mine this problem is missing they show their icons and I use the same intruction in all cases. Where is the problem I don't know but in that case it isn't important for the program,
I tried Witch Cleaner executable on MorphOS, and when I iconify it, I get witch on a broom icon on the desktop. Seems to be working just fine.

Have you tried to iconify the release version with the compiled exe yourself?

If you start the script from an editor before compiling it, it may not find the icon, because the working directory is different and depending how you have defined the icon for the program.

For example, I have used this generic way to set the icon (which works even if users rename the program), and it doesn't work with the release icon when running the script without compiling it (because it looks for program.hws.info instead of program.info then):

Code: Select all

Local type, name$ = GetProgramInfo()
If Exists(name$ .. ".info") Then SetWBIcon(name$ .. ".info") 
I haven't found any kind of random behaviour in Hollywood ever. It's pretty much always explainable by my own mistakes, or in rare cases by bugs but then it's a clearly reproducible issue.
User avatar
Juan Carlos
Posts: 920
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by Juan Carlos »

Humm, perpahps are my Macs, because the Witch Cleaner has the problem all.
The run, thank you for your tips, when I have time I'll try to do it, now I haven't time to computers.
User avatar
jPV
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: RNO
Contact:

Re: Hollywood program calling to Hollywood applet

Post by jPV »

Juan Carlos wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2024 2:28 pm Humm, perpahps are my Macs, because the Witch Cleaner has the problem all.
Boot from the MorphOS live/installation CD and try Witch Cleaner then with a sytem with no modifications. Then you know if your own system has an issue.
Post Reply